Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

I went bouldering this morning intending to do at least 40 routes, but at that point a woman I see there sometimes suggested that I get to 50 and see how I felt. Good idea!

I had a cuppa and a slice of caramel shortbread - very sickly but rather nice - which took half an hour, then put my shoes back on again and decided I'd only do the easiest of the Bees to save energy. Think staircase. 

Gradually the total mounted, see extra, and at number 60 I was sure I'd manage 70. After 69 I asked one of the staff to take a photo of me climbing the last route, because I was chuffed to have done it. Hurrah!

Climbing 70 bouldering routes in one session is one of the things on my 70th Year List, although I'm not 70 until October, but I was getting fed up of trying to build my stamina up and just wanted to get it done. Now I'll be able to turn my attention to more difficult and interesting routes, a new Red circuit will be up by Thursday!

I stretched when I got home and had a hot bath, a bit of a sit down and then began the job of re-sanding the block paving. There's no point in paying a tidy sum for it all if I don't do the maintenance as I don't want it to start sinking in a few years, which apparently is what may happen if you don't replace the sand that the rain washes out. I only got about a third done though, so perhaps tomorrow afternoon if it's dry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.