carliewired

By carliewired

81 F/ 27 C

A day so dark and
dismal that I put myself
back to bed again.

~carliewired

I was up very early peeking out at the world at first light. I couldn't see past the top of my cedar hedge so I knew the day would not be optimal for photos. I had a snack, then rolled back into bed to wake again just before 9.

I got myself out the door heading for Tranquille. I felt I should be able to find something worth looking at in spite of the dreadful air quality. 

I took a shot looking west down the main road to confirm the poor visibility. I stopped again by the airport to see a railway worker clearing brush along the rail line with a large piece of equipment. I looked across the airport fencing to catch an idle helicopter barely visible on the field. 

I stopped across from the wetlands pond to see the Canada geese in residence. They were all strangely quiet. A look up the hill showed the line of freight cars against the smoky landscape. 

I turned at the end of the road to find the ospreys. One was perched on top of a power pole having breakfast. The fish in its claws was still moving. I found one on the nest before it flew off over my head. 

A single bright sunflower caught my eye as I turned for home. These always make me think of my friend E. She was a Saskatchewan farm girl and sunflowers were her favourite. It would have been her birthday last week. 

My surprise was finding a coyote trotting along the road. It was searching for something. I got my photo, then honked to get it off the road before one of the many speeding trucks came along. 

I'm staying home and hoping not to go out into this awful atmosphere again today. I will have my feet up and will keep myself entertained. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.