CrocusMan

By TonyG

Same Flower

Different visitor.

A day of sunshine and showers.  Between the showers I popped out to get a blip pic of Colchicum macrophyllum and found a dopey fly resting there.   The specific epithet macrophyllum refers to the very large leaves that develop in the spring.  I wasn't sure if it would do ok outside in Wales but this one has been in the sand bed, with it's roots delving deep into the soil below, for three years now and is clearly happy.   Wonder if the flower will still be whole tomorrow?   The slugs and snails will be active now it's rained again.

Jamie's still much the same.  We talk to the GP again tomorrow, not sure what they can do but it will be good to talk to them.  I got out with Meg while Rachel was in with Jamie this morning (he mostly slept.)   I found lots of decent looking blackberries down a little visited lane and hope to  return to pick some tomorrow.   I have made four and a half jars to Bramble Jelly so far this year but picking has been hard work.   I'd like to get a good few more in the cupboard yet - far more empty jars than full ones in my store!  My boss has taken me off the rota for the rest of the month, will use up most of my flexi-hours but I guess this is one of the reasons I like to have a few in the bank.

Otherwise a day of making food, sorting bulbs (big bumble on greenhouse cyclamen extra pic) and this evening watching Miranda which is more than a little crazy and makes us both laugh.  Good medicine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.