Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Smiles and tears, sunshine and rain.

Today we said Goodbye to our friend, Jean. She was a member of the walking group from very early on.

We have missed her for some time, because she had dementia and her decline had been all too rapid. Brian, her husband, cared for her devotedly at home. In the end, she had a cerebral bleed and was soon on end of life care.

There was a cremation in Newcastle. Later I joined, along with most people, at Holy Cross Church in Haltwhistle. The service of celebration of Jean's life was lovely. I liked the new vicar, who made everything about Jean and the family.

We were each given a packet of poppy seeds because these were Jean's favourite flower.

There were loads of people at the funeral and afterwards in the Comrades Club. 

When I set off home, I wondered what I could blip. It was raining by then. Lesley, Steve, Henry and Christine were chatting the the car park. I'll photograph the umbrellas I thought, without realising that Lesley's was covered in poppies.

So, for lovely Jeanie, here are poppies to remember you by. Not forgotten.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.