Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Gilsland woods

This morning, I washed and set Mum's hair. That went well.

After an early lunch, I drove to the woods above Gilsland village. I was pleased that the back pain was eased as I walked down the track to the river. This is the River Irthing and there is a small wood managed by The Woodland Trust there.

It was good to potter around, camera in hand. There are few wildflowers at this time of year, but I saw enchanter's nightshade and nipplewort. 

The reflections in the river were very colourful. I have not increased the saturation in this image. The red in the water is the sunlight catching the rocks.

It was a very pleasant expedition.

This evening I was at the cinema in Hexham for the foreign language film. I try to support these because I want them to continue. There was a very thin audience tonight for Lost in the Stars. This 2022 Chinese film had a very improbable plot and included a couple of hair raising car chases. I enjoyed it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.