Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Nature abhors a wall!

Today I went into Newcastle to meet Julie for lunch. My back is not up to the regular Wednesday walk at the moment.

I started with a stroll in the Ouseburn area of the city. This is an old industrial area that has been regenerated into "Newcastle’s cultural quarter and one of the most vibrant creative communities in the North East."  It's a curious mixture. I parked near a scrap yard and a climbing centre.

This defended area caught my eye, as did the green growth attempting to secure a foothold.

Julie and I were meeting in The Biscuit Factory, a place of art and design. I was early and had a coffee. Julie was not only slightly late - she boarded the wrong bus and did not realise until she was well on the way to Killingworth.

Then she had to get off and wait for a bus in the opposite direction. I ordered and ate my lunch while I waited! It was very pleasant but the seats were hard and uncomfortable.

We had time for a chat and for Julie to try to catch up with herself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.