Teasel

By Teasel

Harvested

I got up rather too early and was still feeling ropey, so I went back to be bed and  I slept for a couple more hours and didn’t feel quite so bad when I got up for a second time.  I did feel drained of energy, so there was no run for  me today. By late morning I had eaten some toast, and thought I would try a walk as it was quite a nice day.  The walk did me good I think, as I came home and then ate some lunch.  TT went back to his painting and I sat in the garden and read my book until it was time to go and meet a friend.
 
I met W about thirty years ago when we both started working at the University of Glasgow.  When I left Glasgow we kept in touch for a while, but then lost touch until fairly recently when I bumped into her and her husband.  She promised to get in touch when she was over this way again visiting family, and so we arranged to meet up for a cuppa, a cake and a catch up this afternoon.  There was loads to catch up on.  She took early retirement, but still keeps in touch with a number of mutual friends and former colleagues, and it was nice to get updates on some of them.  When we departed and went our separate ways, we were talking about someone I used to work with who was a very difficult character.  She gave me some news on him, that I am still in shock about!!
 
I walked home in the late afternoon sunshine and then was out again to do a supermarket shop.  I had given TT instructions for tea, which didn’t involve much apart from prepping some veg from the garden – home-grown potatoes and home-grown beans.  A meal with no courgettes!  Our neighbour gave us a home-grown lettuce, which was perfect for salad. 
 
Later I pottered, facetimed TT’s mum and then did a big load of ironing while BB did his maths homework.  He told me it is hard.  I’m definitely feeling a lot better now, just in time for work tomorrow!
 
The weather was mixed, thick clouds like this and then brilliant blue sky.  It was still windy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.