flavia13

By flavia13

M6 JUNCTION 36

A trip to Preston Hospital today for Hubby to have one of his Pre-Op Assessments to do with his lungs.

As we've never been before we left super early for his appointment in order to ensure we could get parked as we've been advised that parking can be very difficult.

I used Google Maps (with thanks to fellow Blipper Flumgummery for recommending them to me some time ago).  I'm so glad we did use it, because as soon as I pressed Start she (Google) advised to go via the A6 to Carnforth due to an accident on the M6 Northbound.  We  ummed and ahhhred about this as it was Northbound but decided to heed her advice.  We are so glad we did because we were driving along the A6 the Traffic  News came on to say that there was now congestion on both sides of the M6!!!!

After that we got there no problem and just jumped into the first parking space we came across.  It turns out just as well that we arrived super early because we heard people who arrived just 30 minutes after saying they had trouble finding a parking space!!!!

As we were so early we decided to have lunch in Preston Hospital's Charter Restaurant.  Fairly basic but it was OK actually and very cheap.  I just had a jacket potato, Hubby had Beef and Onion pie with chips, but they automatically put gravy on it - a Northern thing really -  don't mind it but I do prefer salt & vinegar on my chips, although it went well with the pie.  He said the pie was very good.  It only came to £8 for both dishes, so can't complain at that.

It was so busy though as we didn't want to take up space for any staff trying to grab their lunch so we then went over to the Costa's Cafe in the hospital for our drinks.  Sadly their coffee machine was broken and waiting for a technician so we only had instant, still it was enough for what we wanted.

The hospital was now getting even busier and it was so hot, because it's a very old building with very few places having air con.  Aah well it was only for a few hours.  Luckily the room where a Nurse, Anaesthetist and Consultant Anaesthetist saw Hubby had air con.  They very impressed with this static cycling test, which took quite a while.  I was very impressed with the service.  It's getting scary now it's closer to the op and decisions are to be made but it is imperative.

Overall Preston hospital is vey much in need of renovating but the staff we came across were excellent and the service and restaurant good so that's what's important.

What amazed me in the hospital and I guess it's an age thing, but the amount of people walking along the corridors on their phones, going slow so you had to swerve around them and they were totally oblivious to holding anyone up - I just don't get it.  I needed to send a text and make a call but I stopped off into an area out of everyone's way to do that, mind you I find it easier myself to do that so it's probably just me being very old fashioned.

We got home OK, no hold ups or problems.  Just very busy around the hospital of course and once we got past Lancaster the traffic got lighter.

That's us done for today.  No to think what we've been told and more waiting.

This is the only photo I took all day, taken at Junction 36 of the M6  on the way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.