Scribbler

By scribbler

Painful Wheel

Life and death of a magnolia tree.

Please see also Tree Farewell in my Blipfolio.

Once again, two challenges: PAINFUL (TerriG challenge) and WHEEL (DDW challenge).


Today I am in pain, contemplating the wheel of life as I experience the death of a beautiful four-stories-tall magnolia tree in the courtyard of my condo, accompanied by three equally healthy and beautiful laurel trees.

I have my windows covered because, at least for today, I can't bear to see what is no longer there.


"The bhavacakra is a symbolic representation of samsara (or cyclic existence) found on the outside walls of Tibetan Buddhist temples and monasteries. It is believed that the drawing was designed by the Buddha himself in order to help ordinary people understand the Buddhist teachings.

"The bhavacakra is popularly referred to as the wheel of life. This term is also translated as wheel of cyclic existence or wheel of becoming.

"The fierce being holding the wheel in the drawing represents impermanence; this symbolizes that the entire process of samsara or cyclic existence is impermanent, transient, constantly changing. The moon above the wheel indicates liberation. The Buddha is pointing to the moon, indicating that liberation from samsara is possible."
-- Wikipedia


Is there a heaven for trees? Trees are heaven. I see them continually reaching toward heaven and am moved to do likewise.

"I look upon all creatures equally; none are less dear to me and none more dear. But those who worship me with love live in me, and I come to life in them."
-- The words of Krishna to Arjuna (Bhagavad Gita IX.29, translated by Eknath Easwaran)


This magnolia tree was a gift from God.
The Lord giveth, the Lord taketh away. Blessed be the name of the Lord.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.