Scribbler

By scribbler

Joyful Lunch

Grand Central Bakery. Lunch with my journal.

JOYFUL (TerriG challenge).

1. A joyful lunch is a lunch well-earned. Yoga class was exceptionally good this morning - amazingly, despite paint fumes in the room which led to wide-open windows which brought in the racket from pneumatic drills and earthmoving equipment right outside. None of it distracted me. I love this teacher and this class. Right afterward I had just enough time in the pool to leave me on the cusp of pampered and virtuous. Joyful.

2. I have written thousands of journal pages in cafes and restaurants. Living alone as I do, I need my social fix. It's nice to exchange greetings with cafe workers who know my name and smile when they see me. And then with the bustle around me of music and kids and espresso machines I get to settle down with my journal and record intimate thoughts in a public place. When I reach the end of an entry, when I've said all I need to say for now, when I've arrived at a deeper understanding of what Robert Fritz calls 'current reality,' I feel peaceful and joyful.

LUNCH (DDW challenge).

Something I've not tried before. Roast beef and cheddar with horseradish sauce and butter lettuce on a seeded baguette (poppy seeds, sesame, anise). Iced tea with lemon. Reward for a dedicated workout, sustenance for a writing session.

I titled the first entry in my journal JOYFUL LUNCH.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.