Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Spring in autumn

I've been watching this little cutie for the last couple of days, both in the park and the reserve, and wanted to add him (? - let's say 'him') to my journal.  I know I posted a couple of littlies here two months ago but they're much bigger now and I've never seen such a young cygnet this close to autumn.  I've put another in Extras so you can see his size compared to Mama's.  Very much hope he survives, but they do grow fast and swans are good parents so let's be optimistic.

As for autumn, I can tell you that this morning felt definitely as though the year is on the turn.  There are some yellow leaves on the lime tree outside my bedroom window and the birds in the reserve are just beginning to show themselves - four or five noisy wrens, three very moulting robins looking as though they'd like me to dollop out the mealworms (oh, the responsibility), a blue tit, long-tailed tits (both these last hardly visible but definitely there) and one of the juvenile sparrowhawks mewing from the lookout tree (also in Extras).

The rest of the day's been 'same old', but I won't bore you with the details.  I'm in pain and tired, but goodness, there are worse things.

Take care of yourselves and have a great evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.