Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

time for tea

This morning I ran around doing some local jobs then we set off in the car for East Lothian.
First stop was Seafield to return something to Halfords then we were on our way. We went to Smeaton, one of our regular summer haunts but one which we haven't really visited this year. The gardens are as full as ever and being well tended. We headed to the outdoor cafe. This year, they have built what they call The Hangar, a large, roofed semi open structure with tables which means the outdoor cafe can still be open when it rains .
We braved the garden though, I love to see the birds there. Blackbirds, blue tits, great tits, robins and chaffinches all around us.
My blip is my ploughman's lunch. A good selection and very tasty. I love that the pot of tea always comes with pretty cups and saucers too.
We came home via Costco where I filled up with petrol. Not the bargain it should have been as I filled up with E5 instead of E10. Very careless of me. Still it was still cheaper than anywhere else. Why have we had another price rise at the pumps? It seemed to happen last weekend.
I dropped off a potato topped Chicken pie to Ali then went and picked up the girls from After School Club and took them home. I put on their dinner and stayed and chatted till their mum arrived. Eilidh was very happy to have brought one of the new school iPads home to charge. Not hers, she stressed, they had all just taken one home to charge. She will be given her own tomorrow, along with a tutorial on using it and the school software.
Isobel was excited too as she had completed a Hama Bead design. She ran the length of the playground to show me and to tell me that it was the first time in her entire life that she had completed one. At least I knew what she was talking about.
I left them to it when Katy got home and headed home myself for our own allocation of the chicken pie. Jolly good it was too even if I do say so myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.