Ridgeback13

By Ridgeback13

Spikes and castles

Fell back asleep after waking at 6 so didn’t wake finally til 8am then read the paper and did some Italian etc so up late. I then spent the morning sorting finance stuff which always takes longer than I expect. Annoyed to find the milk had gone off when it hadn’t yet reached the best before date, so my coffee was a bit of a disaster.
Out to see a dance show I’d seen get a good review in the Guardian. It was called Habitat and was basically one woman who was incredibly strong and flexible moving around a darkened stage making contorted holds look simple. She then went under the flexible cloak of paper cones and lights built into her bodysuit lit it up as she manipulated it and scurried around. Hard to describe but interesting soundscape, lighting and incredible suppleness and dance skill. Enjoyed it.
Went from there to collect my bike. It’s been mended in that I can now get the battery out, but only by them removing the safety catch. We chatted about how unsatisfactory that is but at least it means I can use it and store it downstairs which otherwise I couldn’t do. l’ll carry on my argument with the manufacturers in the meantime, but the shop’s been really helpful.
Home and more phoning with the hospital….spent most of the afternoon either on hold or having the phone ring out time after time. So frustrating. Despite the Dr saying yesterday that P seemed lucid I’d had an email from him during the night saying ‘they’ had voted to kill him and were coming to shoot him in the leg today. The nurse I spoke to today also said he was lucid but clearly he’s not saying anything to them about his fears/suspicions. Apparently he’s off the antibiotics now so surprising he’s still delusional/paranoid like this. When she gave him the phone he started fine but then started with the suspicions again…I’d hoped to carry on talking to her afterwards but he hung up when he’d finished and I couldn’t get through again…hopefully she heard what he was saying.
After all that I ended up being very lazy and having some sofa/pointless scrolling time before being driven to make some flapjacks as there were no biscuits or snacks in the house!
Chatted to A on her way home then had supper and walked over to Morningside for Bluebeard’s Castle opera. Re conceived by Daisy Evans it was done as a chamber piece (with the excellent Hebrides Ensemble) conceiving the central couple as a woman struggling with dementia and Bluebeard helping her remember their lives through opening the ‘doors’ of their memory trunk onto key periods in their long relationship. Clever idea, very well done. Saw a few people I know there and although I’m not a massive Bartok fan I enjoyed it. Fast walk home, already quite dark just after 9pm….it’s nearly autumn!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.