Heroin chic

The weather gods are truly spoiling us this week, I'm sitting outside under the sun umbrella to type this - it's a hard life!

Don't know why I bothered taking my camera out with me this morning, just in case I guess, because I had always intended to blip my poppies. One sprang into ostentatious bloom earlier in the week causing Jas to comment, something along the lines of "what's that mom?" I think. So I told her it was a poppy and then went onto explain about heroin and class A drugs - probably left her wondering why the hell we have them in the garden...but to me poppies will always be a symbol of Britain & remembrance and so I liked the irony of planting them here in my German garden - it does help that they're remarkably self sufficient and very, very brash!

I have a lovely weekend spread out in front of me - bookgroup tonight, an evening out with friends that involves a stretch limo tomorrow (can you guess what the blip will be?!) and brunch with a group of expat friends on Sunday - all accompanied by sunny weather, heaven.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.