flavia13

By flavia13

AESHAM MIXA

A good day today.  It was very grey first thing but it was promised to be a good day so G and I decided to go to Ulverston and then on to Manjushri.  Hubby of course wanted to spend the day on his garden.


On the way there was a huge tailback of traffic on the A590 at the Greenodd roundabout, so not being sure what it was I decided to back up the A5092 through Lowick to turn onto the B5281 at Gawthwaite to Ulverston.  Of course being me I took the first turning I saw to Ulverston, which ended up being a single track road which did eventually join up with the B5281, luckily we only saw two cyclists coming the other way and at times when there was space - phew.  
I only go into detail about my route as I know there are a couple of you like to follow the routes I take so I hope you find that useful.


We got to Ulverston OK and by now the sun was shining brightly.  We parked up at The Gill then went for coffee at Gillam's of course.  Then visited a couple of shops, including the market where I managed to finish off some packing to post a small packet for a birthday.


It was pleasantly busy as we came away, enough people to make it interesting, without being crowded.


By lunchtime we had finished so we went on over to Conishead Priory (Manjushri) for lunch.  Pea and Mint soup with a sandwich for G, just a sandwich for me.  He then had a look in the shop, as he loves to do and made a few purchases.  After that we had a walk around the grounds, and whilst walking through a sort of hidden garden G suddenly froze and pointed - and on looking we saw this wonderful wee beastie.  As you probably know I adore Dragonflies and this wonderful thing just sat there letting me take loads of photos of him washing his face, until I tried to move a twig to get a side photo of him he then flew off of course.  


Aeshna Mixa (Male Migrant Hawker)
A small Hawker with paired spots along the abdomen. Male: dark with blue spots and yellow flecks. 


We then walked around the outside of the Buddhist Temple and in the pathway back to the car where there is a lot of buddleia we came across so many butterflies, must have been at least a dozen if not more.  We were completely entranced.  We stood watching the Small Tortoiseshells, Red Admirals and some white ones, which could have been the green-veined or cabbage white I'm not sure which.  Also there was just one peacock butterfly which was magnificent - unfortunately by the time I lifted the camera up it has disappeared.  We stood still and waited for a while but it never returned.


After that we just came home.  As I parked in the drive I noticed some butterflies around our buddleia, not as many of course, just two or three, but a red admiral and a small tortoiseshell so I guess tomorrow I will be out there waiting with the camera to try and catch a photo - we will see.


That's all for now - do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.  As usual I so very much appreciate your visits to my Blip and your lovely comments, stars and hearts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.