Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

The Holly Blue is back

I think this is one from a second brood of the season as there was one/ two flying earlier in the summer.  Taken in the afternoon and spotted as I sat down to rest from my marathon grass cutting activity - I decided I need to trim and trim back the area where the blue cranesbill was taking over and at the moment my back isn't happy with that kind of work.

Second butterfly in extra is a Speckled Wood - I took myself out for a fairly early walk yesterday and the speckled woods were on the edge of the woodland strip near what was The Monkey pub.  (They have finally got around to re-building on the site).  Not a long walk but I'm trying to build up a regular routine, which I seem to have lost recently.

p.s. I forgot to add that I unearthed a small frog as I trimmed the area where the cranesbill was taking over.  Very much unhurt it made its way back into the undergrowth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.