Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Slipping into something more comfortable...

There is a lot of activity in my Monarch Nursery these day with all stages of metamorphosis from eggs to chrysalids.  This is probably a 4th instar cat who has just slipped out of his old skin.  His new skin will allow him to grow to his final instar phase which will be approximately double this size.  Usually the caterpillar will turn around and eat the shed skin which sounds nasty but is actually a great strategy because a pile of dirty cloths will tip off a predator.  Of course, these cats are safe from predators but instinct prevails.  I will put another cat shot in Extra - it's a funny one so worth a look.

I had a hard time picking just one shot today because I did see some cool things including my first blue-winged wasp of the season, and a spined assassin bug taking down a sweat bee.  Lots of adult lantern flies around now too.

I started on methotrexate this morning (gulp) so I'm officially on my way to hopefully controlling my RA.  So far, no problems with the meds but I guess it's too soon to claim victory,.  I start on the folic acid later today which should help control nausea and hair loss.  

Jax, having slept almost all day, is now demanding some play time, so off I go.  Something dark will follow.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.