Capital adventures

By marchmont

East meets West

Another day when exhaustion won out over getting to the pool. 

Once up I pottered around and then headed to town, wearing my raincoat: a wise move.

First event was a conversation with Anas Sarwar.  he came across very well though I don't think he answered the question about private schooling continually educational and social inequality. No ideas where his kids go but there is no doubt that in Edinburgh, Glasgow and to a lesser extent Aberdeen the ability of parents to pay for education distorts the system.  

Stayed in the New Town Theatre (Freemasons' Hall) for the Cabaret of Dangerous Ideas on lying, an academic from Edinburgh University.  As well as being very interesting he was also funny though the dark basement room got quite stuffy.  

Then I hot footed to Stand 3/4 in York Place for East meets West, the Indonesian stand up show.  The Indonesians were very funny.  The gig is paid for by the Indonesian Government and I had no idea there were so many Indonesians resident in Edinburgh.  Much explanation of terms for the white people in the audience and interesting comment on today's sermon at Friday prayers - who knew comedy was haram?

You'll have noticed I'd had no lunch so I took a tram, a tram, all the way to Newhaven and had late lunch/early dinner at Loch Fyne.  I'd have sat outside but the clouds were very dark soi I remained inside with a view of the Harbour.

Replete, it was back up town on another tram (my 5th since they started all these years ago) tram journey and a bus to the Lyceum.  I was early and E was very nearly late, given the lottery that are Edinburgh buses at present, but only 3 days to go!

We were at 'Life's a Dream' in Spanish, a completely different production to the Lyceum one I saw last year. But it was very good and brought out the comedy and I managed to stay awake.

Getting home was another mission - it took us 90 minutes including an unexplained very long wait behind an X62 in Nicolson Street.  As I said, only 3 more days to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.