Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Yellow …..

 I have to admit to being a Coldplay fan - way back from the summer of 2000 when an impossibly young and gawky Chris Martin walked along a damp and misty beach singing their first hit ‘Yellow’. It became one of the favourite songs performed by the boys’ group ‘Feedback’ (Daniel on drums, Simon on keyboards and guitar - joined by three of Daniel’s friends) with regular band practices in our house - we were far from popular with the neighbours! 


I didn’t plan to post my second colour-themed flower blip of the week - but walking round the RSPB reserve this morning, I’m struck by just how many yellow flowers are now blooming. These slow, contemplative walks are journeys of discovery, and I realise what I thought were just plain dandelions, for example, are actually quite different varieties. 

And there’s another voyage of discovery in finding out their names; a journey into a world of quaint old fashioned labels. I realise the visual identifications offered through my app may not be accurate, but I just love the plant names that come up.  

Taking centre stage is Common Ragwort, then from top right to bottom left there’s St John’s Wort, Prickly Oxtongue, Agrimony, Cinquefoil, Autumn Hawkbit, Common Fleabane and Bird’s-Foot Trefoil. 

Many thanks to Miranda for hosting Wildflower Week once again this year. And thanks too for all the lovely comments, stars and hearts for yesterday’s butterflies- all very much appreciated. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yKNxeF4KMsY

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.