PandaPics

By pandammonium

200 at 200

It was event 200 at Littleport parkrun this morning.

We wanted to mark the occasion by persuading 200 people to come and take part. Would we do it? We normally have around 100 at this time of year, depending on the weather.

There are two cable knitting pins of tokens, each with 150 tokens. I usually have only the first pin, but today I took both of them. Both of them.

Usually, there’s a straggle of fast people, then the numbers build up until the horde in the middle comes through, then it tails off again until the tail walkers finish, marking the official end of the event.

Today was like that, but more so. I was glad I’d done the finish tokens before so that I knew what I was doing and had my technique down pat so as not to hold up the finish funnel any more than necessary.

I managed the tokens so that the changeover from the yellow pin (1–150) to the blue pin (151–300) was in a gap between runners so it went smoothly. I’ve never had to do that before.

It was fantastic to tell 228 people ‘well done’ for completing our parkrun this morning. We smashed our target! Many thanks to all who came and made up the numbers. Here’s to the next 200 parkruns at Littleport!

It was lovely to see lovely Luna, who has missed a few events, again this morning, and it was great to see Valerie1940 back, although not to take part, and have a catch-up.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.