PandaPics

By pandammonium

The Blackbird

It took me ages to read The Blackbird* by Tim Weaver, and I’ll tell you for why: because part one was so incredibly dull, being largely back story and musings. I put it down a couple of times and didn’t pick it up again for ages. I didn’t have to reread the entire thing when I did pick it up, but I did have to go back a little way to remind myself of who was who and what was what.

Once I’d got past the tediosity that was the first part, things started happening. It got much more exciting then, so I read it all afternoon and evening yesterday, and all afternoon today, when I finished it, finally finding out the answer to the question posed at the start of the book.

After a break spent watching a couple of episodes of Inside the Factory with Gregg Wallace on super-idiot mode (‘ha ha haha haa haha ha haa’), I started Magpie Murder by Anthony Horowitz. I’d seen it was on iPlayer, but I wanted to read the book first. I’m not sure if it’s still on iPlayer or not.

Please don’t say a single word to me about Magpie Murders until I’ve finished the book!


*The cover incorrectly has The Black Bird. What’s the difference? All black birds are black, but not all blackbirds are black.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.