Dakers

By Dakers

Would You Like

A libation? 

A frequently question I ask Pat in the evening. Pat’s choice is usually a gin, whereas my preference is for a whisky with green ginger wine. Pat has an extensive range of gins to choose from whereas mine is much more limited.

Which brings me to today’s Blipfoto entry which shows the base of crystal glasses resting on a cut glass tray.

Today I have spent most of the day investigating the history of a listed building for a friend who believes the property he lives in may be in some way related to a grand country house, although he can find no trace of it the OS maps.

After some examination of historical maps and consulting my library I have come to the conclusion that the grand country house was built in 1876 and was subsequently burned down and demolished.

I fear that construction and destruction took place between to issues of the Ordnance Survey Maps.

This news will give him something to investigate further over his libation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.