Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

On The Verge Of Something Beautiful

Or maybe that should be "The Verge is Something Beautiful"?
I love this time of year, when the verges are filled with a profusion of frothy white umbels. The fields are full of buttercups and everything seems to be fresh and bright and new.

I have to remind myself to enjoy them while I can. At some point the verge cutter will come along and destroy it all. I dislike the man on the tractor intensely. It's nothing personal, but I just can't abide the wholesale destruction of species rich verges, especially when he mows/cuts too closely and sometimes a little too early for my liking.

If you like your verges full and filled with flowers check out the Plantlife Road Verge Campaign.

Or if you're one of those people with a ride on lawn mower than insists on mowing the verge for miles either side of your house, please stop. It's just silly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.