ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

The 'Warkense Molen', Warnsveld

'Warken' is a hamlet close to Zutphen, close to the A1.  Zutphen is where good friend Pita lives.  She's on holiday now... but I had to take advantage of the weather and advice from cloud radar.
'Warkense' = 'War-ken-suh' (adjective)

Most important for the hunt today -- I wanted to post a good shot of my 400th mill, and managed.  Barely.  Clouds, clouds, clouds everywhere, with a very real threat of rain, so cloud radar was indispensable.  The sun came out and the clouds scattered literally moments after I arrived.  It was a good decision to go for it and the lovely bonus was the chance to explore the surrounding areas as well as this is really far from where I live.  Pita knows I would like very much to explore Zutphen when I visit her, so now I know we will do just that, without the windmill to distract.  Warnsveld is also where there used to be some offices that were part of the police academy, and Pita used to work there, and I chanced upon the place on my way to the mill, but apparently the old mansion has been repurposed.  Didn't drop by to find out, and anyway, closed on Saturdays.  Pita now works where I used to work -- at the academy itself in Apeldoorn.

400 mills in 39 months... quite reasonable.
To my horror, though, I discovered that I have lost an entire folder (folder #10) of 600 shots.  My mistake as I most likely deleted it from my hard drive, thinking that I'd already made back-ups in my externals.  A huge heads up to avoid a repeat.  This means that the windmill shots I have in my BLIP folders of those windmills are the only ones I have.  Who would have thought!  Terribly careless of me, as 600 shots is a huge chunk.  Never mind, not life-threatening, and I have my BLIP copies safe.  I don't think I can reconstruct, if anyone is considering that, unless I visit those mills again, which is what I will not do.  It costs enough to drive to them the first time.

While I was away, AW spent an afternoon with Son, Nani, and Flynn at the local football stadium, as it was an Open Day to herald the new season.  They had a grand time.  Son had picked up AW, then brought him back, and they then all hung around here for an hour or two, while Son helped AW saw the large pallets that were used for the solar panels into shelf planks and the kids played chess.

Thankful for a good day for everyone!
And never mind the lost shots.  A terrible lesson to learn.  :DD)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.