Kaybees Bits

By Kaybee

Swimming Or Slithering?

I nipped out to the bins this morning and spotted a tiny snail shell on the door frame.
Try as I might I couldn't get close enough to get a shot of it. I was wondering if I was trying to focus too close - so I took a shot of the mortar between the bricks to check. Everything was okay - it was just the position that was the problem. So I consoled myself with a normal sized shell.

When I turned to the bins there was a tiny snail on two of them.
The smaller one had a shell that was maybe 2mm and seemed to be struggling to cope with the very thin coating of surface water on the bin and its 'foot' seemed to merge with the water...but it didn't stop him looking at me. I like how translucent it looks and how its shadow looks in that shot.
The Larger snail (about 50% bigger) was doing better with its progress. Probably because the water was beading more.

SWMBO and I went to the monthly 'Makers Market' (it was their first anniversary). It was a lot bigger than the first one - but 'The Larder' still had a queue much, much longer than anyone else ... probably because their stuff is so much better value than anything else there. 'Overpriced' or 'under sized' does not mean better quality.

This afternoon I did some more gardening and in the process I cleared out the dozens and dozens of snails and shells from the gap in the garden wall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.