Teasel

By Teasel

Reflections

Friday, and I had to be up early as I had a train to catch.  I left BB in bed,  but made sure he was awake and crossed my fingers that he wouldn’t go back to sleep.  He assures me he didn’t!  I caught the bus to Edinburgh, and then a train to Alnmouth.
  Ever the optimist I had dressed or summer in shorts and a t-shirt, though had an extra layer and my raincoat in my bag.  It felt chilly when I got off the train, but the day just got better and better.
 
I met my friend M and we headed off, walking from Alnmouth to Warkworth.  We followed the Northumberland Coastal Path, which took us through the dunes, with  great views of the beach and back to Alnmouth.  The weather couldn’t have been better, brilliant blue sky and only the slightest breeze.  I was pleased I had dressed for summer.  M on the other hand, had been much  more pessimistic than me, and had to strip off a number of layers!  We walked up to Warkworth village and had a lovely lunch, sitting in a courtyard.  We finished off with cake, to make sure we had enough energy to get back to Alnmouth!  But first we walked through the village to the castle and then back round by the river.  We walked back to Alnmouth along the beach, as the tide had gone out.
 
Once the beach ran out we weren’t sure how to get back on to the path we needed to be on, but followed a track and got to where we needed to be and walked the last bit on the path we started on.  We got back to the station in time for my train only to find out it was delayed, then became even more delayed.  How very annoying.  There was a very heavy showers while we sat at the station, thank goodness for the shelters on the platform. 
 
I eventually got back to Edinburgh an hour later than I had planned, but luckily I didn’t have too long to wait for a bus.  It was very busy, but somehow I managed to get a seat.  I picked up some stuff for tea at the co-op on my way home, only to fnd that BB was out.  I knew that TT was at a whisly tasting in Edinburgh.  I hadn’t felt hungry at all until I got home, and suddenly I was ravenous.  I snacked while I made my tea, never a good idea.  BB appeared eventually, asking where his tea was!
 
After I had eaten, I was feeling very weary – too much sun and fresh air I think.  I had over 36,000 steps.  It’s been a really lovely day – almost like being on holiday again.
 
This is Rose Sands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.