0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

"What do you want to do after you graduate?"
"I'm not really sure yet, but after working in retail mostly and now this youth role, I've come to realise that whatever I do it has to be something I enjoy."




I was determined today to get someone without sunglasses but being the weather that it was, and the fact that we hardly get any sun like this, or for any prolonged stretch of time, I think people were making the most of it by dressing and accessorising accordingly.

I stood around my usual haunt, asking a few folk but not really getting anywhere, when I decided to approach Vicky here. I had spotted her earlier, sat reading her book. I'm always more wary of approaching folk who are busy texting or on their phones, or reading in fact. I decided to make an exception and it payed off.

Vicki was hesitant at first saying that she didn't like looking at her pictures, but seemed to convince herself by saying "Well, I don't have to look at them I guess" :)

She said she was waiting for her contact to come who was a make-up artist (MUA for those in the know), and she asked me to stick around as she would be interested in the photography side of things. I agreed and in the meantime had a good chat with her about what she gets up to.

Aside from studying for a Masters degree, Vicki has a very worthy job of spending time with young adults in whatever capacity is required. It can be anything from taking them to the cinema (as one teen had never been before), to having a coffee talking about career prospects. It sounded like a great fulfilling role, and one she seemed very content in doing.

"Unfortunately, one of the downsides of working with young people, "said Vicky, "Is that they are always late!"

I couldn't stick around any longer and as I was saying my goodbyes she got a call from her contact who I suspected said she was 'on her way'.

Have a great weekend people!

Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.