madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

View / Views!!!

We tried the new dog field today - as you can see a stunning view looking towards Plymouth and the Tamar River. Oscar however was not interested in the view - and he was not that interested in the field!! He trotted round it when we first arrived and had a good sniff...then nothing! Didn't want to play with his ball and spent a lot of time standing by the fence yearningly looking at the land behind it. The field is just below Kit Hill so I think he was nonplussed at why we were in a boring field when Kit Hill was in sniffing distance! Eventually I resorted to throwing treats for him to forage! I must admit it was a boring field - just grass and a picnic table - nothing to explore. Come the evening in our usual field it was a different story/Oscar! Trotting around sniffing, barking at traffic passing by, running after his ball!
I didn't do much else today apart from cooking! I'd had a good chat with Majoayee last night about meringues - she had posted a photo of some she had made. Most of my favourite puddings have meringue - baked Alaska, Lemon Meringue Pie, Pavlova,  Iles flottantes, Queen of puddings. The latter my mum always made for me when I visited home! So today I made it! Also because it felt Autumnal yesterday I made Toad in the Hole with onion gravy. What a performance! I couldn't find my usual recipe so followed one by Nigel Slater - he uses half milk half sparkling water for light yorkshires. Well I made them in muffin tins as I  always do and they came out like muffins! All stodgy in the middle! So I had to split them and grill them! Which meant taking the Queen of Puddings out of the top oven/ grill! I also had to keep things warm as I had made the pudding when I should have started the gravy! After all that I forgot to put the peas on - so no veg for me today! I think I usually use Delias recipe - you can't go wrong with Delia!
Yesterday I'd made banana muffins - I've perfected the recipe by dry roasting the walnuts and using both galaxy and Bournville chocolate! The recipe also includes a shot of  expresso! I ate four yesterday! In the eve I took some up to the field well wrapped for John and the other 3 dog walking friends. When I phoned him today to arrange the Friday playdate for Oscar, he said they hadn't eaten them! He hadn't realised I'd made them and that they had chocolate and walnuts and wasn't just a mushy muffin! Mel the owner of the field took all of them and gave them to her son and neighbour! When I booked the field for friday she said she had told him but he obviously hadn't listened! Typical man!!!
This brings me to the Spanish kissing uproar. Now kissing anyone without permission is a no no - but given the fact that they had just won the cup everyone was euphoric, and that she had hugged him and lifted him off his feet ( did she ask his permission for that?!)I think it's all gone a little overboard! It was hardly a lingering kiss either - just a quick touching of lips!  I can't say I like the man - grabbing his crotch in celebration I found most offensive, and his  lack of awareness over the issue and inability to give a good  apology picks him out as a bit of a dick in my view! Given the sexism involved over women's football I guess they are using it as an example - I've just seen they have called him to resign! But I guess if a certain male work colleague had  kissed me after my good Ofsted feedback I would have been pretty disgusted!Nothing is black and white - seems to me so many things currently are tried to be made that way. People are cancelled by certain groups and many times it seems to me  various organisations and public figures don't want to become victims of the same so jump on the bandwagon- some high profile  trans figures  being a case in point. The very public trans figure Dylan Mulvaney , used for a Bud promo and Nike womens sportwear,  I suspect is  pursuing a different agenda. Mulvaney declares "I am a woman" whilst  adopting all the generalised characteristics of femininity  in a very caricature way and demanding respect and rights. ( I find anyone demanding respect a bit suss - it's earnt not given on demand!) I have the greatest sympathy for anyone who feels they have been born into the wrong body and I support them in however they want to express/ change  this- but some  of the very public trans figures such as Dylan Mulvaney  I suspect are pursuing a different agenda and she and those using her are not popular with women! Don't start me on trans women in womens sport! Once a boy goes through puberty they have all types of physical advantages over women - even a good male teenager would beat a woman at the height of their chosen sport due to this.  I watched a video of a taekwando school - such dedication in the youngsters. Someone commented that here were children/teenagers  pushing themselves to the extreme whilst in America they were still trying to figure out what sex they were and how they wanted to be addressed!! 
I find it an interesting current issue - and am aware that what I have written would lead me to be cancelled by many even though I support trans people - as usual its the extremists who grab headlines and make the issues more contentious than it should be. In another aspect of femininity,  in Afghanistan women can no longer visit a tourist spot as some have been deemed not adhering to the dress code and taking off their headware, they are becoming prisoners in their own homes - no education, no public jobs etc. It's a crazy world.
Well thats my eve rant over with! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.