Living my dream

By Mima

Hopalong

Oh dear me. Bean is on three and a half legs, and she’s vacillating between stoicism and pathetic.

While we were on our walk she put up a hare right under her nose in the paddock and they both shot off down the lane, and out of sight round the corner into the adjacent paddock. 

When Bean returned, in response to my whistle, she was favouring her back left leg. I quickly examined it, but there was nothing to see. So we turned for home and had a very slow wander back, with quite a few stops for strokes and reassurance. 

It hasn’t got any worse, and having had a chance to examine it thoroughly I still can’t work out what she’s done. She didn’t respond to any particular pressure point. I flexed her knee several times in case of the dreaded ACL problem* and it moves smoothly and easily, thank goodness.

She’s been looking after herself all afternoon, finding comfortable places to lie down and mend. I’ll see how it is in two days time before I think about the vet. And there’ll be just a slow short walk tomorrow.

I have administered special internal medicine: a spoonful of honey. I’m sure it will help, and she absolutely loves it.

As for me, I’ve had a full-on day. Two hours this morning in K’s garden, where there are fragrant and beautiful hyacinths in bloom.

At home I put the final three barrows of compost onto the raised bed in the tunnel, raked it all out and watered it.

Then I spent an hour and a half mowing all the short grass areas. It was the first cut of the new season and has served to stop it looking untidily tufty. It wasn’t an essential job in the grand scheme of Chez Mima, but it has helped make the place look a little tidier which eases my soul.

Later, in summer I will resent the time that mowing demands. Today however it was a novelty and I actually enjoyed it. If I ever get somebody to help me in the garden one day in the distant future, it will be to mow the grass. It is the one thing I can give up quite happily.

Other things: Yoghurt made. Romano cheese into brine overnight. And Camemberts into the cheese box in the fridge to mature.

Tomorrow is a day off. Mostly.

* Sana - my previous dog - had five surgeries on her ACLs; each one a trauma for both of us. I never want to go through that again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.