David J. Rose

By djrose007

Look who paid the bill!

And more souvenirs from the attic!
This one is a bill from the Le Gulf Meridien, in Al-Khobar, Saudi Arabia.
It was my second trip to Saudi, since leaving in November 1989. This time it was for 3 weeks. 1 week in each of Jeddah, Riyadh and Al-Khobar, so that meant travelling from one side of Saudi (Jeddah on the Red Sea) to the other (Al-Khobar on the Arabian (Persian) Gulf). I was teaching telecomm engineers of Binladen Telecom how to install and maintain the Option11C system, mentioned yesterday.
It was a great trip and I think I kept the receipt because the company, paying the bill, is  shown. This was June 1997, so well before the 9/11 attack on the twin towers. After that happened the company kept the same mnemonic, BTC, but changed the name to Baud Telecom Company. Seemed like a good move at the time, but yes, it is the same family and the Binladen I met was an extremely likeable gentleman who welcomed me in Jeddah.
The EXTRA is a postcard I sent to Marlane from Jeddah. The shapes are a water feature on the roundabout near the Red Sea Hotel, but the reason for sending this one is the building to the left of the roundabout is where I used to work! (Ministry of Foreign Affairs Consulate) before moving to Riyadh to take over as project manager for the world-wide MoFA communications network in Embassies and Consulates.
Also (EXTRA) found a photograph of my old bike from the 90's when I used to commute from Maidenhead to Gloucester all year round for about 3 years, before getting a company car and got lazy! It's a Honda CB250N Super Dream.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.