This is the day

By wrencottage

Lurking

Autumn is definitely here now, from the point of view of spiders, at least.  A couple of nights ago, just as we were going to bed, I saw a very large dark spider tucked in the gap between the skirting board and the carpet outside my craft room. Fortunately Smithers is good at removing them for this squeamish individual, who can’t stand seeing them in the house.

Last night as we were watching television we were alerted by our watches that there was someone on the doorstep. A quick look on our phones showed the ghostly image of a large spider crawling over the doorbell camera! (It was probably quite small, but the image was like something out of a horror movie.) Once again, Smithers was sent to investigate and report on the immensity of the intruder. (He couldn’t find it.)

And now, this afternoon, I’ve been out into the garden and taken this shot of an overblown Pretty Lady rose. Unbeknown to me, until I enlarged it, was the fact that there was yet another spider lurking inside one of the lower petals. I can just about cope with them when they’re this size though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.