This is the day

By wrencottage

Memories

I took my camera when we went for a walk today, but there was absolutely nothing interesting or colourful to shoot, so on our return I had to resort to finding something in my craft room, which is where I have spent most of the day.  (I’ve made a birthday card for our middle son and a new home card for our eldest son so I’m feeling quite pleased.)

I made this ‘giant match box’ a long time ago using a 12" square die, which cuts out one piece of card for the base and one for the cover. I have a special large die cutting machine which is big enough to take the large dies that you need in order to make 3D items, and I love it. (There's a photo of it in extras, with the match box die on it, if you're interested.) The base of the box is plain white card, but I stuck a piece of decorative paper depicting old newsprint to the rest of the card so that the cover was more interesting.

I made the box as a present for my aunt, my mother’s sister, and the couple on the front in sepia are my maternal grandparents. After my aunt died, my cousin kindly gave the box back to me. It’s looking a little faded now, but it’s brought back some happy memories for me. My mother and my aunt were very close and this box reminds me of both lovely ladies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.