This is the day

By wrencottage

Piccadilly Circus!

That would be a good description of our garden today, and it’s been like that ever since I came downstairs this morning. There have been birds darting across from the security of the shrubs beside our fence, landing in the branches of the twisted hazel tree from which hang the feeders, and then taking turns to swoop down and grab sunflower seeds or summer bird food mix. They’ve also been queueing up to avail themselves of the spa on the ground nearby.

But the best bit of all was the appearance of a nuthatch. I thought I saw one a few days ago, but it flew off before I could properly identify it and I decided I was mistaken and a bit hopeful, because I’ve never seen one in our garden (or anywhere else) before. However, I was not mistaken because today a nuthatch appeared on numerous occasions and stayed long enough for me to take lots of photos. I was ecstatic, and even more so when a greenfinch appeared too, because I haven’t seen one of those in the garden for months. Here they are sharing a meal together. There were also many goldfinches, both adult and juvenile, and lots of great tits and bluetits, plus a female woodpecker. I wonder why all these birds are appearing so suddenly? Is it because the weather is changing, and they know autumn is on its way?

The rest of the day was quite mundane – dead heading, ironing and so forth, but every time I looked out of the window I was entranced by the bird life and felt so happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.