Mikey88

By Mikey88

False Oil Beetle.

Another warm day. Got the shopping done this morning and after lunch went down to the river to take some pictures of some flowers which I had noticed last night when I went down for the sunset. I got some lovely pictures of that, but I'd already blipped.

I spotted this false oil beetle on the white flowers and caught it hooked by one of the flower stamens. I think its a female, because the males have enormous back legs in the same colour as the shell. I haven't been able to identify the flower. This picture doesn't show any details, but I can't find it in any of my flower books, nor find anything similar on the Internet.

There was also a clump of flag iris and I got some lovely detail shots of the petals of that, but decided the beetle was probably a more interesting blip.

It looks promising for the weekend, so I hope you can take advantage of the good weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.