Arachne

By Arachne

Backwards and forwards

My aim is to do at least one thing each day to improve the house and since I've skived the last few days I went for more than one today:
1. I have two separate places needing 'bathroom paint' for a patch-up. One is ready to go; the other needed a lot of polyfilla - so much so that I packed out the gaps with cardboard. That may have been a mistake; several hours later the polyfilla is still not dry. So, painting deferred.
2. The badger has invaded the compost. I tidied up and sieved the compost that was ready. Even though I never put tea bags in compost any more there were at least 20, along with other inexplicable bits of plastic.
3. I'd intended to use the bookcase I got from Freegle last week as it is for at least the next year but... Putting in new shelf supports to change the distances between the shelves happened to shout out at me this afternoon so I practised using my new drill bought with the help of NZBro. (I love it! My grief for my old drill lost in the move has totally vanished.)
4. Tidying things into the new shelves exposed my heap of very heavy photo albums. Weeding them was on my non-urgent list but this evening I have discarded at least three-quarters of 1982 and 1983. Predictably it's the unfeasibly young humans, me included, and my interest in shapes that have survived the cull.


PS - not house progress but worth recording. I have tried to contact a forthcoming Airbnb host four times over the last 12 days - by message, by phone, in English and in French - to request a late arrival. No response, so I phoned Airbnb today. To my enormous surprise their customer service answered in under two minutes and they got things sorted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.