There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Lotus in Bloom / The New Palmer Art Museum

Rain was in the forecast, but it didn't show up until about 8 at night. So we had the day to do some running around. I took my umbrella just in case. First, I had a lunch date with dear old friends, including one from out of town. We met at The Field Burger and Tap at Toftrees, and both food and company were excellent!

Then I visited the Arboretum, where I discovered a lotus in full bloom on the lily pond. And finally, I wrapped things up by purchasing one more box of August Pie ice cream from the Berkey Creamery. "Yes, we still have some in stock, but it's running low," the lady advised me on the phone; so into town I went for the last of the August Pie!

Above is a photo of the lotus that I was fortunate enough to show up in time to see. I had spotted the Arboretum's lotus bud two weeks ago. At the time, I didn't think I'd be back to see it open. Sometimes we only have one or two lotus blooms in the whole summer! But somehow, here I was again on this day, just in time, and it felt like a miracle.

As I approached the lily pond, I looked around carefully, and there it was, looking amazing! In many cultures, a lotus is a symbol of purity; and it sure seemed that way, as its pale petals rose high above the water. 

I am also a big fan of the strange seed pod in the middle, which looks really cool as it ages and dries. Here is a piece that describes the lotus and what it means better than I can:

"The lotus flower meaning varies from culture to culture. In general, however, the lotus commonly serves as a sacred for purity, rebirth, and strength. Because lotuses rise from the mud without stains, they are often viewed as a symbol of purity. Since they return to the murky water each evening and open their blooms at the break of day, lotus flowers are also symbols of strength, resilience, and rebirth. Still another lotus flower meaning is transcendence: the lotus represents the transcending of man’s spirit over worldly matter since it blooms from the underworld into the light."

I strolled over around the large sundial, where I was standing last week to talk with the older woman about the new art museum. The exterior of the new Palmer Art Museum appears to be nearing completion, but there is much more work to do. 

The interior needs to be finished and become climate-controlled, and all of the art works need to be moved in. The new museum is expected to open in spring of 2024, but in the meantime, we who live here are having a year without art. 

From the time I became a Penn State student living in North Halls in August of 1982, I have visited the Palmer Museum in its old location regularly; in the beginning, sometimes as often as several times a week! It is a hardship to me to go without it for as long as this, but I am trying to wait patiently.

Anyway, the photo in the extras shows the large sundial, some really wonderful purple flowers, and the side of the new Palmer Museum that faces the Arboretum. Someday in the spring, I'll show you the interior, when all work has been completed.

I usually pick a song for each photo but I'll admit that both of these tunes are for that wonderful lotus bloom. I felt so fortunate when I got there that I had arrived at the right time. So my song for that is Paul Simon, with Born at the Right Time. And my song for the bloom itself, that wondrous, perfect bloom, is Ed Sheeran with Andrea Bocelli, with Perfect Symphony.  <3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.