A day in the life

By Shelling

Concrete

Yesterday I prepared todays cast by cleaning up the surfaces in the cellar that are going to be cast, bought what I need for the job, a bag of dry concrete and a mixer. I also had to make a simple mould, a plank pressed in place by a couple of wooden joists, so the concrete won't end up on the floor. I have to fill up about ten centimetres and after it's dry in three days or so, I'll cast an edge on top to stop the soil from dropping onto the floor. 

I've never done this kind of job before, it's rather exciting and takes me a long time but the job went well in the end. Besides the mould I also mended a big hole in the floor. I didn't know how much concrete I would need for the job, I bought 20 kilos and thought I would need half of it but I learned that I need twice that amount to finish the job. So, tomorrow I'll get some more dry concrete and finish what I need for the repairs. More to follow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.