Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Journey's End - Bewdley

I've been missing my walks.  I don't tend to walk in the summer months; I don't enjoy the heat when walking, but my walking mate has also been struggling with a knee injury which has stopped him going more than a mile without having to stop.  I knew I needed to just get out there, but miss the company on a long walk.

I was in Bridgnorth before 7 am, with a plan to walk along the Severn Way to Bewdley, 15 miles along the river, then catch a bus back to the car.  I was expecting reasonable weather, so was flipping disappointed when a shower greeted me soon after starting.  That was only the start of my irritations as I'd put on some walking shoes, not expecting any adverse conditions underfoot, but the light rain coated every blade of grass with water and I soon found out that the shoes had lost their waterproofness!

I stopped on three occasions in the first 5 miles, dutifully taking off the shoes and socks, ringing out copious amounts of water on each occasions until the weather improved.  Lesson to self, put on the proper gear!

I was amazed at one part of the walk at the number of ducks (see extra) on the river and banks.  A chance encounter with a dog walker answered the mystery; apparently a local shoot breed them in the area.  Can't say I'm that impressed, and it certainly gives truth to the saying of sitting ducks, their must have been many tens of thousands in total.

Further on I came across the aqueduct carrying the Elan Valley water supply over the river towards Birmingham.  An amazing feat of  ingenuity and engineering to improve the pubic health of the citizens of Birmingham.

Journey's end was Bewdley, just in time for the bus back north.  The only issue was that the bus stop had been suspended as the bridge over the river was closed to traffic for some preparatory flood defence works.  I envisaged having to retrace my steps, but thankfully a check a the local tourist information found that I just needed to walk a few hundred yards to an alternative stop that the diverted bus was using.

I thoroughly enjoyed the day, even if I did miss my walking mate and I must plan more walks now the autumn season will soon be with us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.