Living my dream

By Mima

Coats

These wee ones are being incredibly well looked after by their farmers. The coats are left on for a week to 10 days after they’re put into the paddock, to give them a bit of extra protection from the frosts. They are the only herd I’ve seen around here being treated so carefully, and it speaks volumes for the farmers.

I’m pooped this afternoon. The morning was spent at G’s, where amongst a few other things I was digging small holes in rock-hard, dry-as-a-bone clay, into which I planted tussocks. I called it quits after an hour and a half, and have called for reinforcements before we return to that particular area of planting next week.

Back Chez Mima I finally completed lifting the turf around the Chilean Guava ‘hedge’ and deconstructed a couple of hefty 3m long planter-edges (out came the sledge hammer) which I shall reconstruct into raised sides to go round the Guavas tomorrow. 

We need rain quite badly - as evidenced by this morning’s labours - and I have begun to water beds on a regular basis. It’s earlier than ever I think and I’d better get used to it. The upcoming El Niño is typified by hotter and drier conditions here on the east of the country.

It is the final day of meteorological winter. Spring starts tomorrow. Happy days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.