ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Windmill 'De Hollandia', Ankeveen

'Ankeveen' = 'Ank-uh-veyn' and NOT 'Ankuhvien'.

Built in 1640, it used to be called 'De Hollandsche Molen', as it was supposed to drain and maintain the Hollandse-Ankeveen polder, but considering the fact that it is not the only windmill in the province of Noord-Holland, the previous name was often quite confusing.  So now it's simply 'De Hollandia'.  It's now a residence.

But what's this?!?  Palm trees?  Is Ankeveen some kind of pacific island that drifted to the north?  Of course not.  Behind me, there's a palm-tree-themed restaurant that's apparently a popular place to meet, and even as I was making my shots, the parking lot was filling up quickly.

Last year, I went on the hunt mid-August and posted the windmill shot to celebrate a new job.  This year, I photographed this mill to celebrate, again, ... my new job!  The interview was announced yesterday and took place today at 12.00, and the 'result' was communicated to me mid-afternoon.  We sat around the table for about 45 minutes, and everything clicked into place.  I'll be reporting to work at Raamsdonksveer for at least the next three months, and perhaps longer if everyone is satisfied by the end of that period.  Super thrilled!  Administration work will start tomorrow and I look forward to beating the Hooipolder intersection traffic by next week.  Yes, here we do go again.

Thankful for a new work opportunity, which is the opportunity for me to save again for our next projects and holidays... and the Viking's work.  WhatsApped him a few days ago that I was still waiting to hear from the employment agency, and his reply was... 'No worries'.  Still unbelievable that I have a solicitor who reassures me that I don't need to think about his fee.  Now that is also something to be thankful for.  Last but not least, thankful for today's very cooperative clouds, that moved out of the way while I shot my mill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.