Capital adventures

By marchmont

Day off?

I lay in bed just after 6 and thought about going for a Friday swim, but I was so tired and I know I would need energy later, so I didn't.  Just turned over and had longer under the duvet.

The main task to day was to go to #2 son's to cut the grass/tidy the garden.  It was very overcast.  A bit of me hoped it would rain.  It didn't. 

No-one was in which was good in some ways and worrying in others.  I discovered that, partly down to me getting the date wrong, the brown bin hadn't been emptied since the last time I was there.  Ho hum!

Being 1.54 there was no way, even with my big ladder, that I could tame the 2 storey high clematis out the back.  I did manage to stop it covering the window but it needs a huge chop back.  Same with the overhanging buddleia. Again I got some of the lower branches but it needs a huge prune,  Actually, as it's next door's, it's the neighbour who needs to prune it.  The grass was a lot drier than a couple of weeks ago so I got it cut quite quickly.

Then on to the front. In one part the plants I planted have really spread and are stopping the weeds and they do have flowers.  Unfortunately in the other bit the  couch grass is a real problem.  I did as much as I could.  The rest will have to wait once it is time to chop stuff back for winter.

Home via Lidl (groceries and a purchase for work), WPR (feed the fat furry one) and the Manor (read the meters).  The KL family have been at Legoland for the Merdeka holidays so lots of pictures of Lego.  The blip is H's, grown up, Lego.

Had time to shower and then get ready for the 3 G 'n T's catch up.  Most of it was spent supporting M who is being made redundant and is still trying to deal with the emotions that opens up.  It was after 8 before I finally got something proper to eat and it wasn't that good - a Lidl ready meal, not recommended.

I watch some mindless TV - Michael Portillo on coastal journeys and then returned to the duvet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.