Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Eliza

I have to call her Eliza as I really had an Henry Higgins moment (or perhaps an 'Enry 'Iggins' moment), this afternoon: 'She's got it! She's really got it!' 

After days of searching and stalking to no avail and after years of wanting to see a red-veined darter it finally happened this afternoon. 

I had set off in the car when a phone call came through that there was a newly emerged female in the grasses. I recall giving a little squeal which could possibly have scared Andy my informant :)) My excitement was punctuated with trepidation as I hit the motorway (I was only going up one junction) but there were 3 lanes of solid traffic and a few brake lights in the distance. 

Immigrant darters may arrive here in late April but in certain areas they can breed which must have been the case here as her colours gradually became stronger. She was perched in the grasses and I honestly would never have found her. Luckily she had flown and been spotted by an expert. Her blue eyes and yellow basal part of the wing distinguish her from an ordinary common darter, with her wing spot pale and outlined in black.

On the My Fair Lady font I remember my parents taking me to Leeds Grand where we saw Rex Harrison in the role. I must have been very young but do remember it vividly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.