This is the day

By wrencottage

Sausages al fresco

Smithers is receiving excellent medical care in hospital, and we now know he’s suffering from postural hypotension, which explains why he faints when he stands up. He won’t be discharged from hospital until the cause can be found.

I had a poor night, with a pounding heart, and felt so ill. I rang the GP this morning for something to help calm me down and have been prescribed mild Diazepam rather than a sleeping tablet, which I wasn’t keen to have. I took one after lunch and then had the best two hours’ sleep I’ve had for a week. It’s amazing how restorative two hours’ sleep is when you’ve been sleep deprived for five nights. I’ve just taken another tablet before bed and hopefully that will help me get a more restful night by reducing my anxiety.

I am surrounded by loving care and prayers and feel so blessed. I was even able to speak to Smithers when a nurse brought a portable phone to his bed. He hasn’t got his mobile with him because there’s no wifi signal in the ward, and anyway he can’t see to use it.

My middle son is visiting his Dad regularly and giving us updates, my eldest son’s partner is looking after me so well, and my youngest son is sending messages from Malta. He should be home for good in a couple of weeks, which is great.

So I give you tonight’s supper, which we ate in the garden after I’d had a very welcome shower and hair wash. It’s the only photo I took all day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.