curns' corner

By curns

Protection screens

Is this the penultimate time to Staines or the one before that? And what is the word for that? CR messaged to say that “Mathieu didn’t make it on the Eurostar, forgot to renew his passport” which put into question this evening’s social event quite early in the day and, by the end, we’d postponed until Thursday. I was quite glad not to need to head into town on a crowded train.

When I left the house it was 18 degrees outside but I still took a coat. The expected high was almost 30 and the thermometer outside my house registered 35. I still bought my usual coffee from the shop on the platform at Twickenham.

It was a good day at work. Still too much conversation about process.  I feel I write this a lot in my diaries but it’s true. If we used the tools properly and, more importantly, consulted the data in them, we could spend more time talking about requirements and what we actually want to build. I ran a session to plan for the break management work which, sadly, I won’t be there to see completed.  We went for a team lunch at a nearby pizza place.  The lunch menu seemed great value until the portions arrived and you could see why. Still, very enjoyable.

On the way home I noticed that there’s a storage space behind the platform at Staines. I’ve never looked that way before. Amongst a lot of bits - including a collection of shopping trolleys - were two screens. I assume they were used during the COVID pandemic and were retired at some point. We’ve come a long way in the last two years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.