The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Cyclamens

In the grounds of the Practice. I snapped them whilst sitting outside at lunchtime, round the side of the building, away from the flesh-burning zone.

I'd spent part of the morning on the phone toa woman who was convinced that everyone was against her. All I had been told was that 'she needs someone to talk to'. Turned out that she had a very specific situation that she wanted to rant about. I knew I couldn't do anything except give her a few more phone numbers, so that's what I did. No further phone calls from me were offered. Afterwards I messaged the person who'd sent the referral and she said something like 'yes, it's very sad but there's nothing that can be done'.
That's when I reminded myself to go outside and try Just Breathing.

Fortunately the rest of the afternoon went a lot better. One client was awarded a Blue Badge, and another went to an event on his own and enjoyed it so much that he is going back next week.

At 5.30 I left the overheated office and went to a coffee shop for a takeaway iced drink that I drank on a bench in the High Street. I could see a man eyeing me up, but this was my Reading Time before my yoga class, so I kept on reading until he sidled up to the bench next to mine and asked me what I was reading. He then proceeded to display great admiration for me, for being 'old school' and reading an actual book, instead of swiping my phone! This man was not young. He had some grey in his beard. It's either the strangest chat up line in the world, or else I am old as his mother, who also reads, with a coffee and a cigarette....
All the lonely people, where do they all come from? (apart from the ones that are referred to me by doctors or nurses).

Very good to be back at yoga, though we were squashed into a tiny room because the Trinity rooms are still being worked on. To my relief, I had not forgotten everything over the summer break.

I've spent the rest of the day reading. Series 1 of Still Game is on Netflix. That'll keep me going for a while. I have not yet finished my book, Three Little Truths by Eithne Shortall. Shall get there any day now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.