The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Shiny

It is so hot in the office! My colleague left at 4. I had the window open and the blinds drawn, but she made me put both electric fans on.

I left at 5, and Steve picked me up and whisked me away to Both Woodchester, to a fantastic Italianate courtyard created in what was once an old farmyard. A couple that Steve knows from London was having a drinks party outside. The woman is a novelist, and once fronted a lot of late night TV programmes. The man is an architect, and he designed their new build.

The guests were fragrant, and not dressed as if they'd come straight from the office, mainly because they hadn't. I had some good conversation, and reconnected with old acquaintances. Sadly, Steve had to go to a meeting at 7pm, so we had to leave. I didn't take any photos of the courtyard because I'd left my phone in the car, and I didn't want to look too nosy.

Finished my book!! Three Little Truths by Eithne Shortall. I want to read more by this author.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.