The second half of life..

By twigs

Seddon Shield Day 3

A short day at the convention which finished around lunchtime.  That's not to say though, that there was a lack of substabce.  On the contrary - the speaker - Tamzin ?? - had me mesmerised by her adventures and images.  She's spent a few years exploring the Subantarctic Islands (Snares, Campbell, Auckland, Bounty, Antipodes and Macquarie Islands) and shared stories about her images and her adventures.  Wow!  

After the closing of the event I decided to head back to Taylor's Dam where I was fortunate - very fortunate! - to see the dabchicks we hadn't seen yesterday.  As luck would have it, I even managed to catch part of their mating ritual.  Dabchicks are also known as Little Grebes and watching them today, I could see so many similarities with the Australasian Grebes I've seen down south.......great divers, weed-sharing mating dances, and apparently, both have humbug-like offspring!  I'm tempted to consider another trip in over to see them in a few weeks time.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.