Wendy's World

By Wendles56

'Favourite Wall'

Crikey it is hot today.  I decided to go for a slow, steady walk after lunch and chose St Ives as I would be shaded by trees most of the way round the circuit.  However, I made a detour at the pond to walk up the way I usually run/walk down by my favourite wall.  It remains a grand wall but my enjoyment of it came from its interaction with the trees which once stood here to the left of it.  See here.  The light playing on the stones and the moss that thrived in the darker conditions made it a special spot.  It will be special again but not in my lifetime sadly.  We have signed up to help with the regeneration of the woodland and will hopefully be involved in the replanting later in the year.

It was a very enjoyable walk.  I was stopped by two chaps in training for a church sponsored walk at the weekend, and asked where the path we were on lead to.  It seems they had parked up in Saltaire, reached Bingley and turned uphill to Altar Rock and then in to the Estate.  I gave them some background to the Estate and they said they would look out for Lady Blantyre's viewpoint on their way round.  I didn't see them as I completed my circuit so I hope they followed my directions okay.

Euan had his first day at his new Nursery today.  Becky sent us a photo of him on his doorstep all ready to go with his clothing bag.  Apparently, the minute his teachers opened the door he was gone inside, which bodes well, but hopefully we shall find out more later on today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.