Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Whistle Stop

Day One - Canada

Up nice and early to head to Whistler today, the home of the 2012 Winter Olympics.  

I'm staying with my cousins in Vancouver this week, so that makes life nice and easy.

First stop was the Shannon Falls, which were quite majestic.  I've already started my collection of fridge magnets from Canada with two from here.  

We then headed to the Chief, a great big slab of rock, well known for climbing.  My cousin's son is going to climb it in a couple of weeks.  There were plenty of people up there and even some who decide to camp on it, i.e. a ledge.  Yikes!

And then off to Whistler, we were hoping to see some bears.  It started raining there, so we thought we were going to get soaked but it eased off thank goodness.  We had a wander around the market, which looked really good with plenty of treats.

We then paid to go on the Peak to Peak gondola to the top of Whistler, cross the valley to another peak before coming down.  We didn't think we'd get much of a view at the top because of the cloud, but we actually got above it, which wasn't too bad.  The trip across the valley reminded me of the scene from Where Eagles Dare, it was a long way down.  But I didn't mind it, where as some of my cousins were hanging on for dear life.

As you can see in the extra, I had my photo taken on the podium with the Olympic rings.

In search of bears we then headed to the abandoned Olympic Park which was in bear country, but sadly we didn't see any.

We then headed home on Sea to Sky highway, which is one impressive road going up and down, as you drive along the coast.  Spectacular!

I was shattered when we got back to Vancouver.

Today I am grateful for:

1.  Seeing the sights of Whistler
2.  Enjoying time with my cousins

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.