Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Downtown

Day 2 - Canada

After yesterday’s long day we had a day just going around downtown Vancouver.

First up we headed to Stanley Park, an amazing oasis of peace and calm slap bang in the centre of the city.  A bit like Bute Park in Cardiff or Hyde Park in London.  We had a nice walk along the sea wall and then went to try and get some food, but the place my cousin recommended had not reopened since COVID.  But we still had a great view of the Lion’s Gate Bridge, a suspension bridge much like the original Severn Bridge (see extra).

We then made a trip to Gastown to see the famous Steam Clock (see extra), I had only just missed it going off.  Gastown is so named because of Gassy Jack Deighton, a Yorkshire seaman who opened the first saloon in Vancouver in 1867, but sadly now it seems to have a growing problem with homeless people.

Next up was the mad, the crazy, Granville Island, think Borough Market in London except ramped up to 10.  Like Borough Market it’s under one of the many bridges in Vancouver and is where all the cool kids hang out.  We had a good wander around and you could spend a fortune there, from food stuffs to fashion and to all sorts of nick nacks.  I emerged with some more fridge magnets to take home.  I also tried some butter chicken from one of the stalls, which was slightly disappointing.

We then took a trip to the Vancouver Canucks, the ice hockey team, and to their store.  I’ve purchased a team shirt with one of their star player’s name on the back and also a retro style t-shirt.  I hope I don’t breach my baggage allowance on the way home.  Lol!

We then had to drop off my cousin’s daughter to the ferry back to the island, so we took a detour around the University of BC, which is almost like a mini city, so vast is the campus.

Today I am thankful for:

1. Cathy for all the driving she is doing in showing me around Vancouver
2. The foresight of Vancouver’s founding fathers to keep Stanley Park a green space

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.